Tuesday, January 22, 2013

HB 1557 THURSDAY before the Governor's Task Force

Dear 2nd Amendment Supporters:


As you may know, my bill to protect school students and personnel was sent to a Governor’s Task Force to be studied last Friday.   HB 1557 will be heard by the Public Safety Workgroup of the Governor’s Task Force on School and Campus Safety on Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 4:00PM in the East Reading Room of the Patrick Henry Building located adjacent to the Capitol on Broad Street.  This is a public hearing so please come and support HB 1557 if you are able.  The contact information for some of the members of the workgroup is below and the rest of the members are at the bottom of this message.  Please contact them to ask them to support HB 1557.


Public Safety Workgroup of the Governor’s Task Force on School and Campus Safety:


The Honorable Marla Decker, Secretary of Public Safety / marla.decker@governor.virginia.gov


Donna Michaelis, Director of the Virginia Center for School Safety / donna.michaelis@dcjs.virginia.gov


Colonel W. Steven Flaherty, Supdt. of the VA Department of State Police / tom.bradshaw@vsp.virginia.gov


Garth Wheeler, Director of the Department of Criminal Justice Services /



Mark Gooch, Director of the Department of Juvenile Justice /



Amy Atkinson, Executive Director, Virginia Commission on Youth /



The Honorable Margaret Ransone, Virginia House of Delegates /delmransone@house.virginia.gov


John Childrey, Deputy Attorney General / JCHILDREY@OAG.STATE.VA.US


Hugh “Skip” Blanchard, Fraternal Order of Police and School Resource Officer / vafop@aol.com


The tragic slaughter of the innocents at Sandy Hook Elementary School has the President promising to issue Executive Orders to bypass Congress to enact “gun control,” even though criminals never obey the law.  No legislation can end all evil but I believe that my HB 1557 will be a step toward protecting Virginia’s school children, teachers and staff.


The School Protection Bill, HB 1557, will allow local school boards to identify volunteers who will receive professional weapons training similar to what our police receive.  These individuals, designated to carry concealed weapons on school grounds to protect students in a shooter situation until the arrival of law enforcement, will be teachers, principals, administrators or retired police and will have worked or volunteered in the school for three years.


Once they receive this training they will be certified to carry a concealed weapon in their school.  Other states like Utah have allowed teachers to carry concealed weapons for nearly 12 years without incident and Utah teachers do not receive nearly the level of training I am proposing.  Ohio allows school divisions to determine whether they will allow teachers to carry concealed weapons.  They have had 1,000 teachers apply for training this year alone.


Support HB 1557 to ensure our students have a line of defense in an active shooter situation.


Other Members of the Public Safety Workgroup of the Governor's Task Force on School and Campus Safety:


Vincent Darby, Principal, G. H. Reid Elementary School, Richmond


Dr. Deborah Pettit, Superintendent, Louisa County Schools


Dewey Cornell, Ph.D. Professor of Education, Curry School of Education, University of Virginia; Director, Virginia Youth Violence Project


Chief Jim Williams, Chief of Police, City of Staunton


Captain Steve Carey, Stafford County Sheriff’s Department (former School Resource Officer)


Gene Deisinger, Ph.D. Deputy Chief and Director of Threat Management, Virginia Tech


Jillian McGarrity, Student, Lynchburg College      


John Lindstrom, Ph.D., Director of Administration & Access, Emergency Medical Services, Richmond Behavioral Health Authority


Chief Dave McCoy, University of Richmond Police Department


Chief Jim Cervera, City of Virginia Beach


Shannon Taylor, Commonwealth’s Attorney, County of Henrico


Weet Baldwin, Coordinator Pre-Hospital Emergency Services


Chief Chris Perkins, City of Roanoke Police Department


Kathy Butler, Tuckahoe Volunteer Rescue Squad


Chief Doug Middleton, Henrico County Police Department


Sheriff Danny Diggs, York County


Michael Reilly, Fairfax County Deputy Fire Marshal


Lee Day, Deputy Public Safety Director, Amherst County and Volunteer in Bedford


Robert H. Foresman, Rockbridge County, Office of Emergency Management


Craig L. Branch, Chief of Police, Germanna Community College

No comments:

Post a Comment